You are here

2014 Gold Star Awards

The Gold Star Program was started by Fort McMurray Tourism in 2004 to honor excellence in customer service within the tourism, hospitality, retail and service industry within Fort McMurray.  The Gold Star Awards Program is meant to be a service to our members and community while also furthering the tourism, hospitality and service sectors within our region.

The Gold Star Awards Gala is held each year to publicly honor the outstanding service individuals of the previous year. This year, the Gala was held on March 15th at MacDonald Island Park with Special guest speaker and Flair Bartenders from the Ultimate Bartending School in Edmonton and Entertainment by Craig Moritz with Matty McKay.  This year, Donna Fetzko of Mcmurray SnoDrifters was chosen to receive the prestigious Tourism Ambassador Award!

Congratulations to all of our Nominees, Finalists and Award Winners!!

2014 Gold Star Winners:

Outstanding Guest Services Accommodations - Richard Jackson - The Sawridge

Outstanding Housekeeping - Carlos Badeo - Chateau Nova

Outstanding Dining Services - Daniel Coady - Atmosfere

Outstanding Server Bar/Lounge - Sarah Rouse - The Sawridge

Outstanding Banquet/ Catering Services - Norma Rizzuto - The Sawridge

Outstanding Cullinary Services - Clarence Buchanan - The Sawridge

Outstanding Customer Service Retail - Dave Hill - Dave Hill Pharmacy

Outstanding Personal Services - Krista Kemp - Allure Medi-Spa

Outstanding Administration Services - Rebecca Simms - Suncor

Outstanding Tourism Services - Heather Dancey - Heritage Park

Outstanding Local Business - Belle La Vie

Outstanding Operational Services - Kyla Rikkonen - Garda

Outstanding Media Services - Verna Murphy - Fort McMurray Today

Outstanding Transportation Services - Mirna Aguilar - Whoosh

2014 Tourism Ambassador - Donna Fetzko